Instant Approval & Publishing Free Guest Blogging Website

UEFA unveils 2020 men’s and women’s teams


UEFA has named its male and female fan teams of the year 2020, as voted by nearly six million supporters. The men’s XI has been going on for 20 years, but this is the first time UEFA also introduced a women’s selection.

50 shortlists have been chosen for voting fans to view and, unsurprisingly, every Team of the Year is dominated by the Champions League winners.

Thiago won the Champions League with Bayern | MANU FERNANDEZ / Getty Images

Five members of Bayern Munich who won the Champions League trophy on the men’s side. Among them, Thiago Alcantara, who has since joined Liverpool.

There are, of course, places for Cristiano Ronaldo and Lionel Messi, even though they didn’t make it past the Champions League quarter-finals last season.

Alphonso Davies of Bayern is the first Canadian to be part of the UEFA Men’s Team of the Year in recognition of his superb season. He is accompanied by a compatriot Canadian in the women.

Alphonso Davies
Alphonso Davies was chosen after his sensational year | Pool / Getty Images

GK: Manuel Neuer (Bayern Munich and Germany)
DF: Joshua Kimmich (Bayern Munich and Germany)
DF: Sergio Ramos (Real Madrid and Spain)
DF: Virgil van Dijk (Liverpool and the Netherlands)
DF: Alphonso Davies (Bayern Munich and Canada)
MF: Thiago Alcantara (Bayern Munich / Liverpool and Spain)
MF: Kevin De Bruyne (Man City and Belgium)
FW: Cristiano Ronaldo (Juventus and Portugal)
Lionel messi (Barcelona and Argentina)
FW: Neymar (Paris Saint-Germain and Brazil)
FW: Robert Lewandowski (Bayern Munich and Poland)

Lucy Bronze
Lucy Bronze won the 2020 FIFA Best Female Player award | Robbie Jay Barratt – AMA / Getty Images

Seven players have won the 2019/20 Champions League with Lyon in the Women’s Team of the Year, including defending FIFA best player Lucy Bronze, who has since joined Manchester City.

Lyon center-back Kadeisha Buchanan makes it a doubly proud moment for Canadian tandem soccer with Davies selected for the men’s eleven.

The England Women’s Super League is represented by the aforementioned Bronze, as well as Chelsea captain Magda Eriksson, Arsenal maestro Danielle van de Donk and world record signing Chelsea Pernille Harder, who made the final. of the Champions League for Wolfsburg.

Pernille Harder
Pernille Harder is the most expensive player of all time | Visionhaus / Getty Images

GK: Sarah Bouhaddi (Lyon and France)
DF: Lucy Bronze (Lyon / Man City and England)
DF: Kadeisha Buchanan (Lyon and Canada)
DF: Wendie Renard (Lyon and France)
DF: Magdalena Eriksson (Chelsea and Sweden)
MF: Kheira Hamraoui (Barcelona and France)
MF: Amandine Henry (Lyon and France)
MF: Delphine Cascarino (Lyon and France)
MF: Sara Bjork Gunnarsdottir (Wolfsburg / Lyon and Iceland)
MF: Danielle van de Donk (Arsenal and Netherlands)
FW: Pernille Harder (Wolfsburg / Chelsea and Denmark)

For more than Jamie Spencer, follow it on Twitter and Facebook!