Pakistan Squad Announced For Bangladesh T20Is

The upcoming series of T20Is, Test matches and on-off ODI between Pakistan and Bangladesh was hanging in jeopardy after the Bangladesh Cricket Board (BCB) could not reach an agreement with the Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) regarding the venue of the series.

On Tuesday, the authorities of the two boards met and the final call was taken. The Bangladesh Cricket Team is going to visit Pakistan for a series of three T20Is, on-off ODI and two Test matches between January and April in three phases.

The first phase includes the three T20I matches which are going to be played at the Qaddafi Stadium of Lahore on the 24th, 25th and 27th of January. The Pakistan Cricket Board (PCB) under the supervision of the Head Coach and the Chief Selector Misbah-ul-Haq has announced the Pakistan squad for the upcoming T20I series against Bangladesh.

The T20I squad of Pakistan has some new faces added with the likes of Haris Rauf and the opening batsman of the Quetta Gladiators Ahsan Ali earning their maiden national call-ups.

Babar Azam has been retained as the captain of the side whilst the seasoned campaigners like Shoaib Malik and Mohammad Hafeez have been brought back into the squad as well. Another young all-rounder Amad Butt has been added to the T20I squad of Pakistan courtesy some exquisite performances by the all-rounder in the domestic T20 competitions.

Senior pacers like Mohammad Amir and Wahab Riaz have been given rest and the burden of fast bowling now lies on the shoulders of the young pacers like Shaheen Shah Afridi, Musa Khan, Mohammad Hasnain and Haris Rauf.

Left-handed middle-order batsman Khushdil Shah has been retained as well in the T20 squad as he played only a single match in the last tour of Australia.

Leg-spinner Usman Qadir has also managed to keep his place in the side along with Shadab Khan, Imad Wasim and Iftikhar Ahmed. Mohammad Rizwan has been chosen as the wicket-keeper batsman in the side.

Complete Squad:

  • Babar Azam ©
  • Ahsan Ali
  • Mohammad Hafeez
  • Shoaib Malik
  • Iftikhar Ahmed
  • Khushdil Shah
  • Amad Butt
  • Shadab Khan
  • Imad Wasim
  • Mohammad Hasnain
  • Shaheen Shah Afridi
  • Musa Khan
  • Usman Qadir
  • Haris Rauf
  • Mohammad Rizwan (wk)

The players who are dropped from the T20I squad of Pakistan are Mohammad Amir, Wahab Riaz, Mohammad Irfan, Haris Sohail, Fakhar Zaman, Imam-ul-Haq and Asif Ali. Misbah-ul-Haq and Nadeem Khan announced the team along with the T20I captain Babar Azam in a press conference earlier on Thursday, 16th January 2020.

Misbah-ul-Haq also added that due to so many senior players in the squad, a lot of youngsters were deprived of the opportunity and the selection committee is now looking to accommodate all of the domestic performers against the three-match T20I series against Bangladesh.

Haris Rauf, Ahsan Ali and Amad Butt have been picked purely on their recent T20 performances and the inclusion of Haris Rauf was very much on the cards since the paceman is having a wonderful time in the Big Bash League (BBL) 2019-20.

Leg-spinner Usman Qadir also couldn’t get any opportunity in the T20I series against Australia and he has been retained as well for the series against Bangladesh.

Related posts

Leave a Comment